Southwest Stuffed Shells

Here’s one to start you off.  I made these the other night, and Liz loved them. Also, I tested the water on Facebook, basically just sharing the picture and the recipe… people jumped on it.

I was motivated to make a stuffed shell primarily for nostalgic reasons.  I remembered back on my childhood when my mom used to make stuffed shells all the time (I’m remembering like… at least once every two weeks, but I was a kid.  I’m thinking it was realistically more like once every month or two).  I thought to myself, God, I haven’t had stuffed shells in like… probably 10 years.  Mom always did it lasagna style, with ricotta, mozzarella, meat sauce, and whatever.  She also uses cottage cheese.  Some people are shocked when I say that, but I’m telling you, it’s a good texture.  I think it adds some substance to the mixture of cheeses and sauce and pasta, where it usually would be somewhat homogenous in texture… gooey and chewy and whatever… I don’t know.  Call me crazy, but I was raised on lasagna/ stuffed shells that had cottage cheese in them… and loved it.  Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it.

This is not my mom’s stuffed shell recipe.  Nope.

These are Tex-Mex stuffed shells.  I know I am not the first person who thought… “That’s probably a good idea.” I know, because as soon as the idea dawned on me, I immediately googled it for a little inspiration.  Here’s what I came up with.

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1/2 medium-sized onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 or 2 Tbs. of Adobo sauce (from a small can of chipotles with Adobo sauce–adds a smoky kick)
  • 1 C. cooked white or brown rice
  • 1 regular can enchilada sauce, divided
  • 1/2 can black beans
  • 1/2 can fiesta corn (regular corn would be fine too)
  • 1/2 ripe avocado (sliced)
  • Salsa (about a half of a jar or so)
  • Large stuffing shells, cooked and rinsed in cool water (about 20-24)
  • 1 or 2 Tbs. chopped fresh cilantro
  • Shredded Mexican cheese
  • Salt/Pepper to taste

Follow the directions on the package to cook the rice.  In a reasonably sized skillet, brown the beef.  Add to it the chopped onion and garlic and sautee it until it’s soft.  Add the taco seasoning, 1/2 of the enchilada sauce, and optional Adobo sauce (you can add more to taste if you like it spicier).  Add the rice to it.  Then, mix in the cilantro, beans, corn, and about 4 Tbs. of salsa. Let it simmer for a few.  Then, pour the other 1/2 can of enchilada sauce into the bottom of a 9×13 Pyrex and spread it out evenly.  Spoon the filling into the shells (there will be quite a bit of extra filling), and arrange them in the Pyrex.  I think I got about 20 of them in there, but you might be able to fit 24 if you’re really awesome.  Top each shell with a spoonful of salsa and then bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes.  In the last 5 or so minutes, top generously with the cheese and leave in the oven to melt for 5 minutes.  Serve hot, each topped with a slice of ripe avocado.  You won’t be sorry.

Leave a comment